Answered By: Sue Ann Brainard
Last Updated: Jan 10, 2017     Views: 139

Students plagiarize for many reasons. While some are simply trying to get through a course as easily as possible, others procrastinate and panic, taking a few short cuts to get the assignment done. Some students think that text on a "group-developed" web page like Wikipedia does not have to be cited because it is "common knowledge" (not true!).  Others genuinely do not understand how to paraphrase, quote, and cite properly.

In this workshop taught by librarians, students will:

  1. discuss how copyright laws and plagiarism rules apply to using material from the web
  2. learn how citing correctly can help avoid unintentional plagiarism
  3. learn how to write a paragraph that successfully and clearly distinguishes paraphrases and quotes from original ideas and language

 

Spring 2017 Workshops

Monday January 30, 6:00-6:50 Room: Milne 104
Wednesday February 1, 5:00-5:50 Room: Milne 104
Tuesday February 7, 1:00-1:50pm Room: Milne 104
Thursday February 94:00-4:50pm Room: Milne 104
Wednesday February 15, 7:00-7:50pm Room: Milne 104
Monday February 20, 4:30-5:20pm Room: Milne 104
Friday February 24, 2:30-3:30pm Room: Milne 104
Tuesday February 28, 4:00-4:50pm Room: Milne 104
Thursday March 2, 3:30-4:20pm Room: Milne 104
Monday March 6, 6:00-6:50pm Room: Milne 104
Tuesday March 21, 2:30-3:20pm Room: Milne 104
Wednesday March 227:00-7:50pm Room: Milne 104
Thursday March 30, 3:30-4:20pm Room: Milne 104
Monday April 3, 5:00-5:50pm Room: Milne 104
Wednesday April 5, 4:00-4:50pm Room: Milne 104

There will be no make-up workshops.

REGISTRATION IS REQUIRED! The plagiarism workshops are now part of the GOLD Program. To register for a plagiarism workshop, students must visit the GOLD Program web page to open a GOLD account, and then register for one of 14 plagiarism workshops in the listing of GOLD Workshops. (To see the complete list of plagiarism workshops, use the search box on the left, using the keyword plagiarism.)

Students: Shortly after you attend a workshop, your name will be added to a database that tracks Plagiarism Workshop Attendance. Your professors have access to this database and can verify that you attended a workshop if they are requiring attendance or giving extra credit for attendance. The database is cumulative, so if you took the workshop since January 2015, your name should be listed. If it is not, please speak to a librarian in Milne Library.